2005 Season Review by Nigel Bolt

click to enlargeWe had another good year with plenty of exciting and competitive racing and best of all in great company.

This was the third season in which we ran classes based on power to weight ratio of the cars. Although there is a wide range of machinery we found the system works well and it is intended to keep it the same for 2006.

We welcomed a number of new members to the series, these included Nick Taylor and John Dickson (Cobra), Paul Hunt, Nick Ledger, Andy Todd (Crossle 9S), Keith Kenward (Autotune Gemini), Paul Edwards and Andrew Chalmers (Porsche 911), Ian Wilson (Lotus Europa) and David Grunberg (Ginetta G10). Unfortunately, for a variety of reasons, some of our stalwarts were unable to be with us during the year or were only able to put in the occasional appearance. We also had as invitation drivers, Arnie Black from Crossle, Mark Hale, Henry Lawson and two previous regulars, Ken Culverwell and Myles Castaldini.

Class A - Nick Taylor was extremely quick, but was chased consistently by Clinton Dorrell (Cobra). Unfortunately Cheng Lim (Cobra) had a number of mechanical problems during the year - let's hope he is back on the pace again in 2006. We were happy to see John Dickson (Cobra) in his first year with us and he will soon be on the pace as will Andy Lambert (Cobra) who is getting quicker with each appearance. Trevor Taylor (GT40) and Mark Jordan (Cobra) made a couple of appearances, we hope to see more of them in 2006.

click to enlargeClass B - Mike Walker has certainly got the hang of his Crossle 9S this season and was constantly barking at the heels of the Cobras, eventually being overall winner at Mallory Park. Graham Paddick's Kougar was, as ever, very consistent and Graham ran well throughout the year.
Latterly we were joined by two more Crossles driven by Nick Ledger and Paul Hunt, who probably next season will be on the pace chasing Mike walker. We also had occasional appearances from Robin Batt (GT40), John Arnold (Revival C Type), Bob Usher-Sparks and Keith Kenward (Autotune Gemini).

Class C - Phil Hollins (Morgan+8), when he was available to come out with us, was the man to beat. Ian Wilson (Lotus Europa) steadily gained grid positions as the season progressed, having some good races with Roger Donnan (Hawk Stratos). Richard Abels (E TYpe) had a few mechanical problems, but when running had some good, quick races. Unfortunately Phil Froud (GT40) still had overheating problems from 2004 and was rarely able to join us. Andrew Chalmers (Porsche 911) improved steadily during the season and will soon be further up the grid, as will David Stafford and Tony Webb in their well prepared Ginetta G12.
Richard Hobden joined us whenever he could and was always competitive. Barry Sheppard (Nomad) had problems during the season with his drive shafts, but hopefully will solve them over the closed season. Andy Reeves (Dulon) put in an appearance and was, as usual, very quick.

click to enlargeClass D - Paul Edwards (Porsche 911) was extremely quick, competing with cars two classes above as was Ken Paton (D Type). Tim Falce (D Type) had an awful season, only managing to start 2 races and not finishing either. The first at Cadwell Park destroyed his engine and put him out until the last meeting at Mallory in October where, after a hasty sump change, he ran out of fuel whilst battling with Richard Abels.
It was good to have Jon Jeffery out in his Davrian GT. David Grunberg in his Ginetta G10 improved his grid position as the season progressed. We also had appearances form Anna Robbins (Reliant Sabre6) and Michael Shoobridge (Lotus Elan) and Paul Morgan (Ginetta G15).

The last race of the season at Mallory Park was our Trophy meeting at which three special awards were presented as follows:

Peter Rudder Trophy for outright winner on the day: Mike Walker

Stephan Gilboy Trophy for Best Sportsman: Tim Falce

Tony Clinkard Trophy for Driver of the Day: Graham Paddick

The trophies were kindly presented by Jane Rudder.

click to enlarge

For the fifth year running we entered a six car team in the Birkett Six Hour Relay at Silverstone. The team consisted of Mike Walker (Crossle), Graham Paddick (Kougar), Roger Donnan (Hawk Stratos), Cheng Lim (Cobra), Richard Abels (E Type) and Tony Webb/Dave Stafford (Ginetta). The team went extremely well although sadly we lost Webb/Stafford on the first stint due to mechanical problems. We finished 15th on the road (gross number of laps after six hours) and 15th on handicap out of 41 entries, we were also 3rd in class!

Very many thanks to those who were not driving, particularly, Jane Rudder and Jane Sandall for the wholesome food to keep the troops going, and all those doing the tedious job of stop watching on the cold pit wall.

On a personal note I would like to thank everybody who put in so much time and effort to make the year a success - it is hard work keeping any series alive and this can only be achieved by everyone contributing where they can.

I would however like to give a vote of thanks from us all to Tim Falce who has put in so much time sorting our web site - he was assisted latterly by Andrew Chalmers - and between them they have done a marvelous job.

My apologies to anyone who is not mentioned - I assure you it is not deliberate.

We are looking forward to another great season in 2006 and early indications are that numbers are looking good.

2005 Season Dinner Dance Pictures here!

powered by BIA
copyright 2005-2007 Tim Falce & Sports Racing & GT Challenge